getting my knickers in a twist

Last week my theme was ‘apathetic’. I was truly apathetic about 99.9% of life. I had no opinion about anything and mostly thought ‘calm your farm people, chill out, people are welcome to make their own choices’ etc etc.

It was an ok stance to take for the most part but I was starting to wonder if I would ever ‘get my knickers in a twist’ about anything again. It feels like we have (willingly) dropped out of society a little. We moved the the ‘country’ and are keeping pretty much to ourselves. I do listen to ABC radio to find out what is going on in the big bad world. (and let’s just say the world does sound bloody grim a lot of the time!). I was pondering the fact that stay at home motherhood (a term I think is said not with love a lot of the time but judgement and nastiness) can make you a voiceless member of society, making us think our only job to do well is to usher our offspring into said big bad world.

Then, today, I had to deal with a situation that was somewhat out of my control. I could only ask for help to remedy the wrong doing. I was bounced back between two parties and it made me rather cranky. It had to do with legal vs. preferred names at the boys school and the school was giving me a hard time about dealing with it. It made me angry that I had to explain the situation, explain my stance and even justify it a little. It is none of their business but somehow they felt their opinion overrode my right to have it the way it has always been. I kept calm on the phone (and ranted off it). The computer programmers that I dealt with were far more accommodating than the staff I deal with a lot and are now ‘talking the school through the process’. Me thinks I will not get a very warm welcome from that staff member upon my next visit.

Honestly, I am still apathetic about (a lot) of other peoples choices*. I don’t see how it is my business to judge what other people have chosen that suits them.

I am also secretly happy to say that I still have a fire in my belly when it is required and that all the washing, cooking, cleaning, repetition of staying at home and raising my family hasn’t extinguished it.

(*This excludes dire, abusive, life/death decisions…you get my drift right!?)

Meanwhile, a lady who seems to have infinite fire in her belly (and when she doesn’t isn’t afraid to talk about it)has launched her new website Lunch Lady Mag

Lunchlady-Mag-Header6

I bloody love the internet! It is such an amazing tool to connect with people you would never have even known existed (although it is a bit of a bummer when you think about how far away some of them are!). In my mind Kate and I are mates and we hang, bake and chat together-I kind of love her without ever having met her. I have a dream that one day she will bring her whole crew to our house so we can do all those things (and take sublime picture of it) and Rohan will help me nut out our vege patch (it would be AMAZING!) Yeah, I like a good daydream!

One thought on “getting my knickers in a twist

Leave a Reply

